Faculty Mentors


Aaron Hawkins was one of the founders of IMMERSE in 2003. He is currently a Professor in BYU's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department and directs IMMERSE research in photonics and biooptofluidics.
He can be contacted at:

459 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-8693
Email:
 hawkins@ee.byu.edu
Website: www.ee.byu.edu/faculty/ahawkins


Stephen Schultz was one of the founders of IMMERSE in 2003. He is currently an Associate Professor in BYU's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. 
He can be contacted at:

459 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-1693
Email:
 schultz@ee.byu.edu
Website: www.ece.byu.edu/faculty/schultz




Brian Mazzeo joined IMMERSE in 2009. He is currently an Associate Professor in BYU's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. 
He can be contacted at:

464 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-1240
Email:
 bmazzeo@ee.byu.edu
Website: www.ece.byu.edu/faculty/bmazzeo




Neal Bangerter joined IMMERSE in 2009. He is currently an Associate Professor in BYU's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. 
He can be contacted at:

469 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-4869
Email:
 nealb@ee.byu.edu
Website: www.ece.byu.edu/faculty/nealkb





Brent Nelson joined the IMMERSE program in 2014. He is currently a Professor and Department Chair in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department here at BYU. 
He can be contacted at:

459 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-6455
Email:
 brent_nelson@byu.edu
Website: http://ece.byu.edu/faculty/brent_nelson

Mike Wirthlin joined the IMMERSE program in 2014. He is currently a Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department here at BYU. 
He can be contacted at:

469 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-7601
Email:
 wirthlin@ee.byu.edu
Website: www.ece.byu.edu/faculty/wirthlin



Daniel Smalley joined the IMMERSE program in 2015. He is currently an Assistant Professor in BYU's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. 
He can be contacted at:

449 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-4343
Email:
 smalley@byu.edu
Website: www.ee.byu.edu/faculty/smalley

Shiuh-hua Wood Chiang joined the IMMERSE program in 2015. He is currently an Assistant Professor in BYU's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. 
He can be contacted at:

452 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-6749
Email:
 wochiang@byu.edu
Website: www.ee.byu.edu/faculty/wood_chiang
Brad Hutchings joined the IMMERSE program in 2017. He is currently a Professor in BYU's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department.
He can be contacted at:

446 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-2667
Email:
 brad_hutchings@byu.edu
Website: www.ece.byu.edu/faculty/brad_hutchings


Cammy Peterson joined the IMMERSE program in 2017. She is currently an Assistant Professor in BYU's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department.
She can be contacted at:

449 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-3348
Email:
 cammy.peterson@byu.edu
Website: www.ece.byu.edu/faculty/peterson


Jeffrey Goeders joined the IMMERSE program in 2017. He is currently an Assistant Professor in BYU's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department.
He can be contacted at:

453 Clyde Building
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-3499
Email:
 jgoeders@byu.edu
Website: www.ece.byu.edu/faculty